What I have been learning….

Image

It has been a while since I have posted.  It has been a pretty busy summer.  One of the things I have been doing is leading a Bible Study at my church.  We are going through Brave by Angela Thomas.  The Lord has really been using this study in my life.  I have really loved it.

This Bible Study has brought up so much in my life.  Especially in the area of my health and fitness.  I plan on doing several posts on what I have been learning and processing.

I have also been going through the Crave 60 day devotional by Lysa Terkuerst.  This has been an amazing resource for me in my health and fitness journey.

One thing she discusses in her devotional and her book of the same title is that the goal of our health and fitness journey should not be a hot body or to fit in a smaller size but it should be having peace with God and ourselves.

I get so tired of beating up myself or listening to all the voices of guilt and shame that constantly try to derail me.  I want peace.  I want to glorify God with my life.  When I glorify God, I am at peace.

So how does this fit into my journey of health and fitness?

I need to seek Him first.

There are so many resources and programs available for us but it can be so overwhelming and discouraging.  So I need to seek the Lord and have Him direct my footsteps in this journey.

But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.  – Matthew 6:33

But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.  – James 1:5

I must do what He says

But he must ask in faith without doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind.  For that man ought not to expect that he will receive anything from the Lord being a double -minded man, unstable in all his ways. – James 1:6-8

Walk in obedience to all that the Lord your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land you will possess.  – Deut 5:33

I must rely on His strength.

He gives strength to the weary, and to him who lacks might, He increases power. – Isaiah 40:29

Come to me all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest fro your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.  – Matthew 11:28-30

I must praise Him along the way.

Sing to the Lord, praise His name; proclaim His salvation day after day.  Declare His glory among the nations; His marvelous deeds among all peoples.  – Psalm 96:2-3

If I am faithful in doing these things, I will be glorifying the Lord and I will have peace in my inmost being.

How about you?  Do you think peace is more important than a great body or a smaller clothing size?

Leave a comment